The Ex-Boyfriend's Handbook

The Ex-Boyfriend's Handbook

by Matt Dunn

Brilliant!" -Mike Gayle, author of Mr. Commitment "It's not me-it's you." After ten years, Jane's had enough of Edward Middleton.

"So I'm letting you go too." Determined to get her back, Edward realizes he must learn how to make women want him again.

But right now, he's the kind of man who puts the "ex" in "sexy." One thing is certain: if he's going to be Jane's Mr. Right, he needs to turn himself around.

From Atkins to Waxing, Edward begins working his way through the makeover alphabet.

But is a change in appearance what Jane really wants?

  • Series: Ed & Dan
  • Language: English
  • Category: Fiction
  • Rating: 3.57
  • Pages: 368
  • Publish Date: November 1st 2010 by Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Isbn10: 1402243456
  • Isbn13: 9781402243455

Read the Book "The Ex-Boyfriend's Handbook" Online

You've called me right in the middle of Antiques Roadshow just to tell me your girlfriend's gone to bed?" Tibet, Dan. Jane's gone to Tibet. Dan comes to Edward's rescue and seeing that there is little furniture left in the apartment, they head off to the local pub to drown Edward's sorrows. Jane left Edward a letter outlining her reasons for the breakup. Edward consoles himself, convinced that he is Cuddly Teddy until Dan tells him the truth. Dan helps Edward take stock of his life and Edward begins an incredible transformation. I think that what I liked most about this book was that Edward was given a wake up call.

* Dan is Edwards best friend. 4 things I liked or disliked about the book: * I thought it would be fun to read what essentially seems like a chick-lit book but from the point-of-view of a man. In fact, Edward felt incredibly familiar to me; he felt like the heroine in a chick-lit book! If youre looking for a light, fluffy read in the chick-lit genre that has a little twist to it, this would be a good choice. Because chick-lit isnt really my thing, I didnt fall in love with this book, but it was a perfectly pleasant read and a good one for when I wasnt feeling well.

The book begins with our hero, Edward, receiving one of the (if not the) worst Dear John letters imaginable.

Review copy provided by publisher 3 stars Why I Read this Book: Ive seen The Ex-Boyfriends Handbook described as the male-equivalent to Bridget Joness Diary. I thought BJD was hilarious so I wanted to read The Ex-Boyfriends Handbook. I was even more curious to read a Chick-Lit book written from the main male characters POV, figuring it would be quite a change from the norm. What I Liked: The book begins on January 16th, the day Edward discovers that Jane, his girlfriend of 10 years, has left him. The whole time I was reading this book I wanted to know if they would get back together or not. Funny stuff that comes out of Dans mouth: Youre dressed like a scarecrow. Overall Impression: Fans of Bridget Joness Diary and Chick-Lit will love the male insight from Edwards POV and the humor that comes along with it.

Edward Middleton comes home to find his girlfriend, Jane has left him. Can Sam help Edward win Jane back? The other moment I liked was when Sam was commanding Edward to run up and down stairs. At the end of their workout, with Edward about on his death bed, Sam tells him good job. Edward says good job why.

So it was a wonderful surprise to see that The Ex-Boyfriend's Handbook was written by a man with a man's point of view. His best friend Dan, a pompous TV celebrity, convinces Eddie that he can get Jane back if he makes some changes. He also tries to tell Eddie that ten years as cohabitants, Jane surely wanted more.

Ed and Sam are lovely characters.

Matt was born in Margate, but eventually escaped to Spain to write his first novel (in between working as a newspaper columnist, and playing a lot of tennis).