Loose Lips

Loose Lips

by Rita Mae Brown

If you crossed Mitford, North Carolina, with Peyton Place, you might come up with Runnymede, Maryland, the most beguiling of Southern towns.

In Loose Lips, Rita Mae Brown revisits Runnymede and the beloved characters introduced in Six of One and Bingo, serving up an exuberant portrayal of small-town sins and Southern mores, set against a backdrop of homefront life during World War II."I'm afraid life is passing me by," Louise told her sister."No, it's not," Juts said.

We are life."In the picturesque town of Runnymede, everyone knows everyone else's business, and the madcap antics of the battling Hunsenmeir sisters, Julia (Juts) and Louise, have kept the whole town agog ever since they were children.

Now, in the fateful year of 1941, with America headed for war, the sisters are inching toward forty...and Juts is unwise enough to mention that unspeakable reality to her sister.The result is a huge brawl that litters Cadwalder's soda fountain with four hundred dollars' worth of broken glass.

Suddenly they are joint owners of The Curl 'n' Twirl beauty salon, where discriminating ladies meet to be primped, permed, and pampered while dishing the town's latest dirt.As Juts and Louise become Runnymede's most unlikely new career women, each faces her share of obstacles.

By turns poignant and hilarious, it is deepened by Rita Mae Brown's unerring insight into the human heart.From the Hardcover edition.

  • Series: Runnymede
  • Language: English
  • Category: Fiction
  • Rating: 3.79
  • Pages: 432
  • Publish Date: May 2nd 2000 by Bantam
  • Isbn10: 0553380672
  • Isbn13: 9780553380675

Read the Book "Loose Lips" Online

It felt a lot like Ms. Brown forgot to reread Six of One before writing Loose Lips to check for "who" and "when" details.

The Book Report: Julia Ellen Hunsenmeir and her big sister Louise do WWII and motherhood and heading into middle age, with an excursion into grandmotherhood and infidelity. My Review: I don't know if I'm unusual in this, but I feel very *proprietary* about characters and books in the series that I come to love. Since I adored the first book in this series, Six of One, I came to all the others thinking There Is But One Way for things in this world to be. And then Brown, creatrix of the series, shifts things willy-nilly! I suspect one reason Brown is writing the fill-in books is that her mother is now dead.

Another decade later, the author revisited Runnymede for more detail during 2 decades out of the 8 in the original story. This book was a major disappointment from one of my favorite authors.

In Loose Lips, published by Random House Publishing, and written in 1999, Rita Mae Brown chronicles middle age life for two sisters, in small town Maryland. Brown conveys, satirically, through Julia (Juts) and Louise (Wheezie), the evolution of womens roles, as well as life on the home front during WWII. Juts makes fun of Wheezies approaching forty, and it results in a fight that breaks the window of a local store. Juts experience a mini crisis of sorts when she catches her husband cheating one night, while she and Louise are on guard duty watching for enemy planes (Brown 234). Juts is only able to snap out of it when she adopts the baby, of an unwed runaway mother that used to live in town. Browns novel shows how womens roles change over the course of World War II and even through Nickel, sets the course for the sixties as well. Brown delivers Juts and Wheezies growth quite hilariously while being satirical throughout the entire novel. Brown cleverly pokes fun at traditional roles, and small town communities by using Julia and Louise as the main source of ideology.

The writing style was not nearly up to par (sadly, I personally feel that Ms. Brown's writing has headed South of late), and there were glaring inconsistencies in the plot and simple details, such as Nickel's middle name(!?!). It made me think that this book was very hastily written and published as an attempt to win back readers who loved Six of One and Bingo along with many of her earlier works (fans such as myself), but (again, like myself) have a hard time with the all too cutesy series she is now "co-authoring" with her cat.

From there Loose Lips details what a trainee goes through to become a part of the CIA, ultimately taking on a job that will require you to convince another human being to commit treason. I found the ending of the book not necessarily confusing, but it left me feeling a little let down.

Starting in the fall of 1962, Brown attended the University of Florida at Gainesville on a scholarship. she received another degree in cinematography from the New York School of Visual Arts.citation needed Brown received a Ph.D. in literature from Union Institute & University in 1976 and holds a doctorate in political science from the Institute for Policy Studies in Washington, D.C. Starting in 1973, Brown lived in the Hollywood Hills in Los Angeles. During Brown's spring 1964 semester at the University of Florida at Gainesville, she became active in the American Civil Rights Movement. Brown took an administrative position with the fledgling National Organization for Women, but resigned in January 1970 over Betty Friedan's anti-gay remarks and NOW's attempts to distance itself from lesbian organizations.